Annamarie – Introduction

Hi.  I’m actually more a senior than a boomer – just about to turn 66.  I’ve lived in Spokane all my life, and love it here.  I do have two children and five grandchildren, all within about 60 miles.  So, I will probably stay right here even though sometimes I think about moving to Seattle.

I have been widowed for about eleven years, and retired at 65 from a long career as a school librarian. I loved my work, and am finding it a little bit hard to adjust to retirement.  I will be volunteering at a nearby elementary school, but am also looking for new interests and maybe even a gentleman friend to escort me to some nice events downtown.

Something else you should know about me is that I am a recovering alcoholic.  I’ve been sober for a little over three years now, and I attend AA meetings regularly to help me stay that way.  One of the reasons that I am so determined to find ways to use my time well is that I don’t want to relapse, which is very common when your life changes dramatically.  I don’t want to be one of those statistics!

Annamarie M. (Annamarie is not my real name – AA is founded on the principle of anonymity, and in any case I want to spare my family and friends any embarrassment.)

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s